Jesus Calls

Posted: September 22, 2011 by revivalbiblestudy315 in Bible Study
Tags:

Jesus calls to us to:

1. Come to me. “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

2. Follow me. “Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.” Matthew 16:24

This is a 4 part process. First you have to come to Jesus, then you must deny yourself. Then you must take up your cross. This takes denying yourself new the next level. One thing that was certain in Jesus day was that a man carrying his cross was a dead man. There was no turning back. And following Jesus is the same. You are dead to yourself and alive anew in Christ Jesus. Then you must follow Him. Literally walking as He walked.

3. Abide in me. “Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” John 15:4-5

4. And I will dwell inside you. John 15:4-5(above) and “That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love,” Ephesians 3:17

Leave a comment